Home Sports Extraordinary moment a stump microphone blocks a run out during an international...

Extraordinary moment a stump microphone blocks a run out during an international cricket game 

2
0


Extraordinary moment a stump microphone BLOCKS a run out during an international cricket game

  • India robbed of a certain run-out by technology in T20 women’s cricket game
  • Loose stump microphone cover saved Australian Meg Lanning from being out
  • Extraordinary moment left television commentators and cricket fans bewildered

Technology has been responsible for an extraordinary hiccup during a crucial T20 international cricket women’s game.

India was robbed of a certain run-out by a stump microphone cover in the Tri-series final against Australia at Melbourne’s Junction Oval on Wednesday.

Australian captain Meg Lanning was hunting for a quick single when Indian Shikha Pandey grabbed the ball and immediately aimed towards the bowler’s end, where a loose microphone cover on the stumps blocked the run-out.

Meg Lanning (pictured) couldn't been believe her luck when she was saved by technology

Meg Lanning (pictured) couldn’t been believe her luck when she was saved by technology

Television replays show a diving Lanning clearly out of her crease had the ball hit the stumps.

The run-out would have sent her back to the pavilion on 20 and left Australia on shaky ground at 3-98 after 13.1 overs.

A relieved Lanning then recovered quickly to snare an extra run out of the near run-out.

The extraordinary rare moment left commentators bewildered. 

‘It actually deviates to the right,’ Channel Seven commentator Brad Hodge said.

‘That is hitting the sumps, then oh dear, what has happened there.

‘That shouldn’t happen on the cricket field.’ 

Replays show Lanning was clearly been out had the stump microphone cover not be in the way

Replays show Lanning was clearly been out had the stump microphone cover not be in the way

Fellow commentator Elyse Villani questioned Lanning’s ‘cheeky’ extra run.

‘That is where the spirit of cricket comes in as well because you know that when someone has a shot at the stumps and it hits any part of the batter the batter generally doesn’t run again,’ she said.

‘Technically you can but with the spirit of cricket you generally don’t.’ 

Some viewers believe Lanning should have been ruled out.

‘She should have walked,’ one cricket fan wrote.

The Australian skipper's lucky break was short-lived and was dismissed six runs later

The Australian skipper’s lucky break was short-lived and was dismissed six runs later

Lanning managed six more runs before being dismissed in the next over.

Australia have set India a score of 156 for victory after Lanning won the toss and elected to bat first.

Australia hope to retain their number one ranking at the upcoming T20 World Cup, which begins in Sydney next week.

 

Advertisement

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here